Greetings from Ft. Hood, TX

September 10, 2006

Greetings from Ft. Hood, TX. My first week here has come to an end, and in all honesty, it was a good week. It was a week spent reuniting with old friends, meeting new soldiers, getting acquainted with my chain-of-command, and, in general, re-familiarizing myself with the military. My body is sore now from all the exercising I’m doing again. But it’s a good pain-I’m getting in shape again. And that feels nice. And while it’s nice to be spending time with my Army friends, after work it definitely feels nice to go to my own room and spend some time with myself. I’m reading more again. I haven’t read this much since my deployment to Iraq. It’s something I’ve always loved doing, but I always make excuses to not do it. Well, no more. This week alone I’ve read Fast Food Nation, 1984, Creature by John Saul, and The Husband by Dean Koontz.


I have to read fiction once in a while to keep from going insane from the facts presented in non-fiction. Although 1984 is a fiction novel, it has very chilling visions of the future. But read more on that in my next blog. Anyway, I am enjoying the solitude I have right now. It allows me to think, and concentrate solely on my own thoughts – about the situation I’m in, and where I want my life to go when my military experience is over. But I also think about our country, and the war in Iraq. I’ve spent a lot of time speaking with fellow soldiers about how their experiences were in Iraq. And while some had better experiences than others, they all expressed how lucky they were to make it back to the U.S. alive. And some have expressed their anxiety about having to return to Iraq for possibly the third time – Imagine- Three year-long deployments to Iraq in 5 years! For anyone reading this, let that sink in for a moment. Sons, daughters, husbands, wives, parents, gone for years to Iraq and Afghanistan. And they do it for no reason other than they’re told to. Some agree, some don’t with the politics surrounding the war. I hope that a number of years from now when this war is over, hopefully years over by then, that we as a country can say that we did all we could to support and honor these soldiers. I want you all to remember that there is a difference between supporting the troops and supporting the war. Don’t let whatever anger you harbor about the war or the administration cloud your judgment about the troops. I try not to.

2 Responses to “Greetings from Ft. Hood, TX”

  1. beckster1977 Says:

    I know I’m not saying anything to you that hasn’t already been said, but I really appreciate you standing up for what is right. Too many of our people have unnecessarily lost their lives for a war that will have no true victor. You will be in my prayers as you return to your post. Just trust in the knowledge that the majority of those serving with you feel the same way that you do. You’ve just got one hell of a backbone. Best of luck to you. Becky

  2. 27wishes Says:

    I’ve just heard about your story from Ricky Clousing’s blog and as I read your entry on reading it made me think you might enjoy Chris Hedges’ “War Is a Force That Gives Us Meaning.” It’s a pretty good read by a journalist who “gets it” after covering war for many years.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

